Now hear this: Black Kids

November 13, 2007

Black Kids

Yep, I love them. And I love them because

1. Their songs are infectiously darling
2. There are black kids in the band the Black Kids

Those two points are running neck and neck for ultimate reasons why I like this new band. And they’re precious looking (I want to become instant bffs with the lot of them!).

KEXP’s blog offers a free mp3 of their single ‘I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How To Dance With You’ as Song of the Day (mp3).

But what do they sound like? Think early The Shins given a healthy pinch of lo-fi power pop and female doo-wop backup singers (a wee bit reminiscent of their contemporaries The Go! Team).

Read the KEXP blog entry for the Black Kids ‘I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How To Dance With You’ song of the day. (Psst! I think KEXP might have just as much of a band crush on them as I have!)

Leave a Reply

