Accurate ratings dialing a buddy at Pitchfork?

October 31, 2007

Wow, is it just me or has Pitchfork been rating music a little bit more accurately as of late? I’ve been noticing a trend all year of more “accurately” rated albums on the site. Maybe they’re over their “we’ve got something to prove” phase and are actually rating things the way the rest of us would agree.

I put accurately in quotes up there because reviews are just well-formed opinions anyway and no opinion is ever really right or wrong it’s just more or less accepted by a group of people.

Les Savy Fav - Let’s Stay Friends
Pitchfork gave it an 8.3
Love all the songs I’ve heard so far especially “The Year before 2000” and “What Would Wolves Do”. But, I’m a Les Savy Fav fan and they can pretty much do no wrong in my head anyway.

The Go Team - Proof of Youth
Pitchfork gave it a 7.2
I’ve only heard two songs from this album as well, but I like The Go Team and chances are they’ve made a solid album here. Yep, that’s an educated guess my friend. But these kids are always pleasing to my ears.

Yeasayer - All Hour Cymbals
Pitchfork gave it a 7.8
Every song I’ve heard I’ve been practically blown away by. This is my favorite new band of 2007!!! Except maybe for Black Kids (see below).

Kanye West - Graduation
Pitchfork gave it an 8.7
I agree, although maybe I’d rate even a little higher because it’s been a long time since I heard an album where every single song is pretty much a hit song.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Is Is
Pitchfork gave it an 8.2
I’m burning a whole in this EP. A huge HOLE! Hey guys, since it’s an EP, it’s a good way for you to find out if you like the Yeah Yeah Yeahs if you’ve never tried them before (EPs are like a sampler and they usually cost about half the price of a full length album). I hit repeat on this baby several times a week still.

Black Kids - Wizard of Ahhhs
Pitchfork rated is an 8.4
This is my other favorite band of 2007!!! They’re a throw back to late 90s / earlier 2000s indie rock. Pretty lo-fi with a punch of synth keyboards. They’re like a mix of early The Shins and The Go Team. Plus, I like songs that have more than one person singing and they do this well with each other. As do my other favorite 2007 band Yeasayer (see above).

I’m sure Pitchfork will throw in their curve balls once in a while and rate something spectacular a 2.1 and something awful a 9.7, but for now I’m along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

