Can you hear me now?

May 2, 2007

I don’t know why, but I was just thinking about something. When I was still in middle school or maybe even as old as high school I would let the deaf girl at church put her hand on my throat during song practice. She seemed to find it funny or maybe she just thought I was nuts. But I swear I saw that on an educational video at school. Someone somewhere taught a deaf girl to hear by letting her feel the vibrations the throat makes when speaking or singing.

Anyway, she never learned to talk, but it’s not because I didn’t try.

Leave a Reply

